I Guess You Had To Have Been There…

Patent Democratic Republican steam shaving shop


A barber in Lexington having some ill feeling toward Mr. Clay was about to vote against him. But meeting Mr. Clay one day in the street, he accosted him, and said, “I have wronged you, Mr. Clay.”
“How so?”
“Why my wife came to me and said, “Jerry, don’t you remember when you were in jail, and Mr. Clay came and let you out and will you vote against him?’ ‘No! no! Jinny,’ I said, ‘do you think I am such a beast?'”


NOTES:

It’s all in the timing….

 


Tomorrow: The Chief of the West

This entry was posted in Huzzah!, politics and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to I Guess You Had To Have Been There…

  1. Pingback: 1844 Whig Songbook Index | Madhouse Manor

Leave a Reply

